Liquor Advisory Board

The Liquor Advisory Board is responsible for:

  • Reviewing all liquor license applications
  • Meeting with applicants to discuss liquor licenses
  • Making recommendations to the Local Liquor Control Commission and/or City Council
  • Investigating liquor license complaints made by citizens
  • Monitoring liquor licensees for compliance with City and State laws


  • 7 voting members, including 2 SIU students, appointed by the Mayor with consent of the Council 
  • 1 non-voting ex-officio member


  • 3-year term
  • 1-year term (SIU students)
  • 2/3 of all members must reside within city limits or 1 1/2 miles of city limits

NOTE: No voting member shall be employed by, own stock in, be a partner in, have an interest in or own personally any business entity which has a license for the sale or distribution of liquor by retail or wholesale. However, the ex-officio (non-voting) member shall be selected from among the corporate officers, partners or individual proprietors which hold a liquor license within the City.

Members of the Liquor Advisory Board are:

Donald D. Monty (Chair)
Jennifer Sorrell (City Clerk)
David Cisco
Anastasios Karayiannis
John Mills 
Steve Payne 
Mark Robinson 

Taylor Delaney 
Henry Webber 


Show Menu
Hide Menu