Preservation Commission

The duties of the Preservation Commission are to investigate, hold public hearings and recommend to the City Council the adoption of ordinances designating certain properties, improvements and areas having special historic, architectural or community value as historic districts, landmarks and neighborhood preservation districts. Other duties are to review applications for alteration, construction, and demolitions affecting property(ies) formally under consideration for designation or designated historic districts, landmarks, and neighborhood preservation districts.

Composition: Comprised of nine (9) voting members appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the City Council. Not less than (7) voting members of the Commission shall be residents of the City of Carbondale and not more than two (2) members may be persons who reside outside the City but within the City's zoning jurisdiction or who reside outside the City but own real estate within the City. Members appoint Chair. Three year terms (CRC 15-2D-1C-1)

Members of the Preservation Commission are:

 Jason Sigler (Chair)
 Kevin P. Clark
 Dorothy Ittner
 Ed Van Awken
 Barb Doherty
 Scott Comparato

 Kathy Benedict
 Jordan Wren

 Justin Zurlinden
 Sarah Lawrence (Staff)


Additional information about the City of Carbondale's Historic Preservation Commission or any of it's activities, please contact:

Sarah Lawrence, Planner at email: or telephone at 618-457-3257

Carbondale Historic Preservation Plan
Carbondale Preservation Awards Program
History of Carbondale
Photographs of Historic Places in Town
Information on Audio Tour of Town Square



Show Menu
Hide Menu