Sustainability Commission

The Sustainability Commission is responsible for:

  • Recommending energy conservation in building code
  • Studying possible incentives for renewable energy and energy conservation
  • Applying energy and environmental conservation principles throughout the City
  • Increasing energy efficiency in transporation
  • Sharing information and expertise on environmental issues with other groups and organizations
  • Recycling and the use of reusable materials

For more information:


  • 9 members appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the Council


  • Four-year terms
  • 1 CCHS member, who resides within the city limits,  to be appointed for a 1 year term
  • 1 SIU Student member, who resides within the city limits, to be appointed for a 1 year term
  • 2/3 of all members must reside within city limits or 1 1/2 miles of city limits

Members of the Sustainability Commission are:

Loren Polley (Refuse and Recycling Supervisor)
Aur Beck
Jane Cogie
Tom Grant (Ex-Officio)
Charlie Howe
Sorrel Kunath
Scott Thorne

Vacancy (2)

Shaunak Talapatra (CCHS Rep)
Vacant (SIU Rep)


Show Menu
Hide Menu